Professor Siva Umapathy

Prof. Siva Umapathy is the Director of the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) Bhopal. He is laser spectroscopist and was the Chair of the Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry and a Professor of Instrumentation and Applied Physics at the Indian Institute of Science Bangalore. He is known for his studies of molecular dynamics using Raman Spectroscopy.

Professor Umapathy graduated in Chemistry from Kongunadu Arts and Science College of the University of Madras and joined PSG College of Technology from where he passed MSc in applied science in 1981. Subsequently, he moved to New Zealand for his doctoral studies and secured a PhD in physical chemistry from the University of Otago, obtaining a research fellowship from Science and Engineering Research Board, he did his post-doctoral studies at Rutherford Appleton Laboratory and University of York. On his return to India, he joined the Indian Institute of Science where he is a Professor and chair of the Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry. He heads Laser Spectroscopy Group at IISc where he hosts a number of doctoral and post-doctoral scholars.

He has also served as a visiting faculty or fellow at various institutions such as Kanagawa Academy of Science and Technology, University of Groningen, Institute of Molecular Science, University of Tokyo, Imperial College of Science and Technology and University of Nottingham.

His researches were centered on Laser spectroscopy and he has carried out extensive work on molecular dynamics using Raman spectroscopy. His group also utilizes other spectroscopic techniques like infra red and is involved in the examination of the molecular structure of cells and tissues. Using Raman spectroscopic techniques, he has developed a method to identify biomarkers in cells which is estimated to assist in early cancer detection. He has published several peer-reviewed articles; ResearchGate, an online repository of science articles, has listed 164 of them.

Prof. Umapathy, holder of Swarna Jayanthi Fellowship (2000) and the J. C. Bose National Fellowship of the Department of Science and Technology from 2010 to 2020, received the Young Investigator Award for the ICORS Conference at the University of South Carolina in 1989 and Sir C. V. Raman Young Scientist Award of the Government of Karnataka in 2003. The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research awarded him the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, one of the highest Indian science awards, in 2004. The same year, he received the Bronze Medal Medal of the Chemical Research Society of India. He is also a recipient of the Raman-Mishishuma Award of the India-Japan Science Promotion Council which he received in 2012. He is a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and an elected fellow by the Indian Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences India. He has delivered several award orations including the Subbarao Memorial Lecture of Osmania University (1993) and many invited and plenary lectures.